Beginner Topics

Intermediate Topics

Advanced Topics

Online Poker

Hold 'em Stars

Pocket Calculator

Hold 'em Dictionary

Internet Notation

Hole Card Jargon

Hold 'em Jokes

Poker Music

Bad Beats

Link to Us

View Poker Bios

Annie Duke

Barry Greenstein

Carlos Mortensen

Chris Ferguson

Chris Moneymaker

Daniel Negreanu

Greg Raymer

Gus Hansen

Howard Lederer

Jennifer Harman

Mike Matusow

Peter Eastgate

Phil Hellmuth

World Poker Tour Championship

The World Poker Tour was founded in 2002 by Steven Lipscomb. It is a very popular tour, with colorful commentaries on TV by Mike Sexton and Vince Van Patten. It also features beautiful hostesses such as Shana Hiatt, Courtney Friel, and others. To add to its television appeal, when a tournament becomes heads-up, women wearing provocative outfits come out and dump a suitcase of cash on the poker table.

The tournament has become increasingly popular over the years, both due to its television appeal and also due to participation by more known players.

Below are the winners of the WPT championships over the years, and the prize they won.

WPT SeasonWinnerAmount
2007-2008David Chiu$3,389,140
2006-2007Carlos Mortensen$3,970,415
2005-2006Joe Bartholdi Jr$3,760,165
2004-2005Tuan Le$2,856,150
2003-2004Martin De Knijff$2,728,356
2002-2003Alan Goehring$1,011,866

Copyright (c) 2008 | | December 13, 2017 | Links | Contact Us