Beginner Topics

Intermediate Topics

Advanced Topics

Online Poker

Hold 'em Stars

Pocket Calculator

Hold 'em Dictionary

Internet Notation

Hole Card Jargon

Hold 'em Jokes

Poker Music

Bad Beats

Link to Us

View Poker Bios

Annie Duke

Barry Greenstein

Carlos Mortensen

Chris Ferguson

Chris Moneymaker

Daniel Negreanu

Greg Raymer

Gus Hansen

Howard Lederer

Jennifer Harman

Mike Matusow

Peter Eastgate

Phil Hellmuth

World Series of Poker Main Event

The World Series of Poker (WSOP) is the largest set of poker tournaments in the world. It is held annually in Las Vegas.

The series culminates with the $10,000 no-limit hold 'em "Main Event", which since 2004 has attracted entrants numbering in the thousands, with the victor receiving a multi-million dollar prize.

The Main Event of the WSOP has been a $10,000 buy-in no-limit Texas Hold 'em tournament since 1972. (In 1971, the buy-in was $5,000.) Winners of the event get the largest prize of the tournament and a gold bracelet.

Below are the winners of the Main Event since 1970, and the prize they won.

2008Peter Eastgate$9,152,416
2007Jerry Yang$8,250,000
2006Jamie Gold$12,000,000
2005Joseph Hachem$7,500,000
2004Greg Raymer$5,000,000
2003Chris Moneymaker$2,500,000
2002Robert Varkonyi$2,000,000
2001Carlos Mortensen$1,500,000
2000Chris Ferguson$1,500,000
1999J. J. Noel Furlong$1,000,000
1998Scotty Nguyen$1,000,000
1997Stu Ungar$1,000,000
1996Huck Seed$1,000,000
1995Dan Harrington$1,000,000
1994Russ Hamilton$1,000,000
1993Jim Bechtel$1,000,000
1992Hamid Dastmalchi$1,000,000
1991Brad Daugherty$1,000,000
1990Mansour Matloubi$895,000
1989Phil Hellmuth$755,000
1988Johnny Chan$700,000
1987Johnny Chan$625,000
1986Berry Johnston$570,000
1985Bill Smith$700,000
1984Jack Keller$660,000
1983Tom McEvoy$580,000
1982Jack Strauss$520,000
1981Stu Ungar$375,000
1980Stu Ungar$385,000
1979Hal Fowler$270,000
1978Bobby Baldwin$210,000
1977Doyle Brunson$340,000
1976Doyle Brunson$220,000
1975Sailor Roberts$210,000
1974Johnny Moss$160,000
1973Puggy Pearson$130,000
1972Amarillo Slim Preston$80,000
1971Johnny Moss$30,000
1970Johnny Mossn/a

Copyright (c) 2008 | | December 13, 2017 | Links | Contact Us